Designer Spotlight: Meet Sharlene Garcia

 

Stats:

  • Kids: 10,8, 4
  • Married: 14 years, met in FFA-- Cal Poly
  • Lives: In the Sacramento Area
  • Fact: I was a rodeo queen
  • Walk up song: ‘Me, too’ by Meagan Trainer

Getting the kids off to school, going to the grocery store, shuttling to after-school activities, making dinners and other chores, Designer Sharlene Garcia does it all--in her yoga pants. Don’t be fooled though, her athleisure style isn’t because she’s chillaxin’ all day.

“I like to be busy,” Sharlene said. “The other day, my oldest daughter walked into the living room and I was sitting on the couch. She asked me, ‘Mom, what are you doing?’ and I realized, I NEVER sit on the couch in the middle of the day.”

It’s no surprise that between her full-time job as a mom to three kids, her part-time job as an account manager, and her KEEP business, Sharlene’s daughter was shocked to see her sitting.

Shot_7_0074.jpg

She might be busy, but it’s not all-work-and-no-play. She finds an escape in the beach, in a good meal (with wine, of course!), and in her passion for the Agriculture community.

A California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly, for short) grad and former rodeo queen, Sharlene and her family love to visit the sunny shores of San Luis Obispo where all her favorite things come together. It’s where she met her husband in their Future Farmers of America (FFA) program and also home to her most-craved meal.

“When we make it down to SLO, we ALWAYS go to Firestone,” she said. “It’s a total sports bar, but they have the best Tri-Tip sandwich I’ve ever had.”

Now a Northern California resident, she also recommends Carmel-By-The-Sea for their amazing wine and the ocean vibes, so take note if you’re visiting California anytime soon!

Sharlene’s agriculture roots didn’t end in college, either. Her day job is centered in the agriculture community and someday she hopes to own her own horse again.

“Horses were always my hobby growing up,” she said. “My horse passed away almost nine years ago when I was pregnant with my second child. I had had her since I was 12 years old and she was my best friend growing up. I didn’t buy a new one because I had a two-year-old and a newborn, but someday I’ll get back to that.”

She has high hopes that her KEEP business could lead her to that goal.

Shot_6_0022.jpg

“KEEP has grown tremendously for me and eventually I’ll probably make a choice between doing it and having my part-time job,” she said. ”I never thought that would be an option without because my kids are super involved in things that cost money like sports and theater. We had the money to afford it all but not anything extra--but now we really could consider something like a new horse!”